Write-in Candidates Fill Field for November County Commission Election

Four write-in candidates for seats on the Ward County Commission have qualified for the November general election. Two declared candidates, Shelly Weppler and Jedidiah Rader were unofficially qualified at the close of Tuesday’s primary election, but write-in candidates needed at least 300 votes and remain in the top six overall to qualify for the November ballot in which three will be elected to serve.

Results pulled from the North Dakota Secretary of State website show former Minot Park District Director Ron Merritt leading the write-in field with 1,455 votes followed by current County Commissioner Jim Rostad with 895. Former Minot School Board member Miranda Schuler qualified with 488 votes, and attorney Ashley Gulke rounds out the November field making the ballot with 332 write-in votes.

Write-in candidate Zach Raknerud was eliminated by the primary process and will not advance to the November ballot.

Quick Commentary: It’s possible this primary process is overcomplicating the election to Ward County Commission as we’ve previously written, but kudos to all write-in candidates stepping forward and successfully coordinating so many votes.

Josh Wolsky

Developer & Writer @TheMinot Voice, Fan of the Souris River, SavorMinot Advocate. Fortunate to be a 'former' City Council member ;)

Local Businesses Supporting Local News

Subscribe to Today in Minot!

It's the free, easy way to stay informed about what's happening in Minot, and it helps support independent local news and journalism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *